## Tab 5

## METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SALT LAKE & SANDY

## **RESOLUTION NO. 1923**

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake & Sandy ("District") owns 61,900 shares of Provo River Water Users Association ("Association") stock, which is among the most important assets of the District; and

WHEREAS, the Association directors are elected each year at the annual members' meeting; and

WHEREAS, the Association's annual members' meeting is scheduled for April 27, 2023; and

**WHEREAS**, the Board of Trustees of the District has determined that it is in the best interests of the District for this District to formally appoint a representative and proxy to vote the District's Association shares at the 2023 annual Association members' meeting, according to the written instructions contained in this Resolution.

**NOW THEREFORE** it is hereby **RESOLVED**, that the Board of Trustees hereby appoints Annalee Munsey, the District's General Manager designate (or a representative of the District as selected by Annalee Munsey) as the District's representative and proxy for purposes of voting all Association shares owned by the District on the issues to be voted by members of the Association at the 2023 annual members' meeting. Regarding the election of Association directors, the District's representative and proxy is directed to vote all Association shares of the District as directed in this Resolution.

Section 3.2 of the Bylaws of the Provo River Water Users Association provides that Class A members of the Association are those members "each of whom owns 10,000 or more shares in single ownership." The Class A members consist of just two members, the District, which holds 61,900 shares, and the Provo Reservoir Water Users Company ("PRWUCo."), which holds 16,000 shares. Section 3.2.1 of the Bylaws of the Provo River Water Users Association further provides that the "Class "A" voting group shall elect one (1) director for each 10,000 shares of stock owned by members of this group, and also one (1) director for any additional major fraction (more than half or 5,001 or more) of 10,000 shares, out of the total of eleven (11) directors provided for in the Articles of Incorporation, provided, that each Class "A" member shall be permitted to elect at least one (1) director." Therefore, the Class A members as a group elect eight (8) of eleven (11) Association directors, except that each Class A member has the right to name at least one director as a matter of right. We instruct and direct our representative and proxy to nominate and elect the following as Class A directors of the Association in addition to the one director to be named as a matter of right by PRWUCo.:

- 1. Laura Briefer
- 2. Joan Degiorgio
- 3. Annalee Munsey

- 4. Tom Godfrey
- 5. John Kirkham
- 6. Don Milne
- 7. Tom Ward

If the representative and proxy of the District is called upon to designate one of the above seven nominees as a director who is named as a matter of right by this District, then Annalee Munsey shall be so designated.

In addition, Section 3.2 of the Bylaws of the Provo River Water Users Association provides that Class B members "shall consist of members each of whom owns less than 10,000 shares." Section 3.2.2 of the Bylaws of the Provo River Water Users Association further provides that "Class "B" members shall as a group elect one (1) director for each 10,000 shares owned by members of this class, and one (1) director for any additional major fraction (more than half, or 5001 or more shares) of 10,000 shares, out of the total of eleven (11) directors provided for in the Articles of Incorporation." There are two Association directors elected by Class B members.

Section 3.2.3 of the Bylaws of the Provo River Water Users Association further provides that "If the owners of stock in the voting groups as above designated do not hold sufficient stock to entitle them to elect in the aggregate a full board of eleven (11) directors as herein provided by following the procedures stated above, then the additional directors required to make up the number provided for shall be elected as directors at large by a majority of all the stock of both voting groups represented at the annual meeting of the members." There is, therefore, one (1) Association director at large. We instruct and direct our representative and proxy to nominate and elect the following as the at large director of the Association:

8. John H. Mabey, Jr.

This RESOLUTION adopted by a vote of the Board of Trustees of the Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake & Sandy on the 17<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2023.

Patricia Comarell Cindy Cromer Joan Degiorgio Tom Godfrey John Kirkham John H. Mabey, Jr. Donald Y. Milne

> Tom Godfrey Chair of the Board of Trustees